Recognition of Prior Learning

Recognition of Prior Learning

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is an assessment process which assesses the competencies a person has achieved through formal qualifications, workplace experience and informal training in relation to established criteria/requirements of a nationally recognised qualification.


  • Formal training
    • If you have studied structured learning at an institution and achieved a qualification of statement of attainment (for example a Certificate, Diploma or Degree).
  • Workplace experience
    • Learning that has taken place through work experience
  • Informal training
    • Structured learning has taken place but does not lead to a qualification. (for example Professional Development workshop conducted by a business)

To enquire about or begin the RPL application process, Click Here

Please note: RPL is assessed on a case by case basis. RPL would not be recommended for those are unable to access and provide genuine and current evidence of their skills. RPL is awarded for a total unit of competency (no partial RPLs of units will be awarded)

Credit Transfer

This is an administrative process where people who have previously successfully completed the matching or equivalent unit of competency at another Registered Training Organisation (RTO), can apply for a credit transfer towards the BTA course.

Applying for a Credit Transfer:

Step 1) Use your Statement of Attainment to check if you have earned any of the below unit codes:

Certificate IV in Bowen Therapy – Distance Subjects

  • HLTAAP002 Confirm physical health status
  • BSBMED301 Interpret and apply medical terminology appropriately
  • HLTINF006 Apply basic principles and practices of infection prevention and control
  • HLTWHS001 Participate in workplace health and safety
  • BSBESB401 Research and develop business plans
  • CHCCOM006 Establish and manage client relationships
  • CHCPRP005 Engage with health professionals and the health system

Diploma of Specialised Bowen Therapy – Distance Subjects

  • HLTAAP003 Analyse and respond to client health information
  • CHCPRP003 Reflect and improve upon professional practice
  • CHCPOL003 Research and apply evidence to practice
  • CHCLEG003 Manage legal and ethical compliance
  • BSBESB404 Market new business ventures

Step 2) Apply Here

Please contact with any questions.


What is Vocational Education and Training (VET)?

Vocational education and training (VET) enables students to gain qualifications for all types of employment, and specific skills to help them in the workplace. Vocational education and training is provided through a network of eight state and territory governments and the Australian Government, along with industry, public and private training providers. These organisations work together to provide nationally consistent training across Australia. The VET sector is crucial to the Australian economy; both for the development of the national workforce and as a major export industry.

What is a Nationally Recognised Qualification?

Nationally recognised training leads to vocational qualifications and credentials that are recognised across Australia. Only registered training organisations (RTO) can issue nationally recognised qualifications. RTOs are recognised as providers of quality-assured and nationally recognised training and qualifications

Nationally recognised training courses are listed on

What is the Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA)?

ASQA is the national regulator for Australia’s vocational education and training (VET) sector. ASQA regulates courses and training providers to ensure nationally approved quality standards are met.